Strings - DR Black Beauties

This is the folder for discussions about basses. Not about playing bass... but about the instruments themselves.

Moderator: Bassmann1968

overdog

Strings - DR Black Beauties

Postby overdog » Sun May 15, 2011 12:48 pm

Well, I just purchased my first set of DR Black Beauties for my Roscoe.

What a difference! Not harsh on the fingers, and the coating does NOT impact the clarity of the tone. Wow!

A bit expensive...
but worth it!
- John

If you buy it right the first time, you have nothing to be ashamed of!

Bass: Roscoe SKB 3005 - Sculpted quilt maple top on a swamp ash body. Tobaccoburst finish. 35" scale 24 fret maple neck. Bartolini pickups & 3 band preamp.

TobiasMan

Re: Strings - DR Black Beauties

Postby TobiasMan » Sun May 15, 2011 6:15 pm

I've been using them on my Tobias 6 string for several years now. Feel good, last very well and sound great. :D

0.30 to .130 (the .130 is a special order but gives a nicely taut B string on a 34" scale bass)
Feel that bottom, eh?
Steinberger NXT5 EUB, MTD 535 fretless, Tobias Killer B6, 72 Fender P,
David's "pre-DNA" rig (Navs, Qsc PL230, XLT & XST 410s, WT500)

LaneOnBass

Postby LaneOnBass » Thu May 19, 2011 2:13 am

I switched to Black Beauties shortly after they came out, and immediately fell in love. To me, they sounded like a set of Hi Beams after they'd settled in and lost their out-of-the-wrapper harshness. Then, instead of changing them every week (with the day or two showing an audible difference), I changed them every month... or two. And that was with 5-6 gigs a week.

And, as was pointed out, they feel good under the fingers. Plus, they look awesome on black basses! :D

I've been a DR fan for more than 18 years, and bought them in stores for more than a decade before I entered into an endorsement relationship with them. I don't use anything else, and seriously doubt I ever will.
Keep Thumpin'!

Lane

Knock me down, I'll stand up again
'Cause I won't give up & I won't give in